I had to jot this down because it’s happened to me so many times.

I have a long commute – 90 minutes each way, five days a week on mostly two-lane secondary roads where the speed limit rarely cracks 45. There have been many, many times when I find myself stuck behind a large truck or a slow driver, unable to pass for miles. It is very frustrating when I feel time pressing down on me. But the times that I really, really want (my mind will tell me “need”, but I know that isn’t true), to pass this guy are inevitably the times that the Universe is purposely telling me to slow it down.

How do I know the Universe is talking to me? Because very often it’s when I’m in those situations that I find slowing down helped me avoid a speed trap or an accident. I can’t count how many times I’ve spoken to the driver ahead of me in my head – usually suggesting which pedal they should be stepping on – when out of the blue I crest a hill and there is a cop sitting with his radar on. Worse, I crest that hill to find a fresh or nearly fresh accident, and realize that had I been driving more aggressively it might have been me T-boned in the middle of an intersection when someone ran the red light.

God works in mysterious ways, and we have to pick up on very subtle clues to get the message. Miracles don’t have to be big – “Six Saved in Fire”, or even cute – “baby’s first smile”. Look for the miracles in your everyday life: a string of green lights where you usually catch all reds, a busy coworker stops by to tell you something that makes you laugh, stumbling into a sale on something you were going to buy anyway. There are countless tiny miracles every day if we just open our eyes to them.

For one week, jot down every little miracle you see. Think about how you classify something as a miracle – are your guidelines too narrow? How many things did you see that happened to you when you were alone, and how many were part of an interaction with someone else?

