So I’ve officially been Jazzercizing for three months, averaging two times per week. I’ve only missed 4 classes: two due to work, and two were cancelled due to the freakish snowstorms we had this year.

At a session a few weeks ago, we’re actually down on our mats doing some crunches – every so often they break up the dancing stuff with some mat work. Now, there are some older women in the class with me and as I’m crunching away, I’m looking around the room to avoid thinking about how much I dislike exercise. The older women are doing their crunches on chairs. To modify a crunch into a chair exercise, you bend at the waist, trying to touch your elbow to the opposing knee (we were working obliques). If you can also pick your knee up, that’s a bonus. And these women couldn’t do it. I was surprised (maybe I shouldn’t have been?). I wouldn’t expect these women to be on the floor doing full crunches, but they can’t sit in a chair and bend at the waist? How do they tie their shoes?

In fact, as I look around the class during the dance parts, I’m noticing other women who are not much older than me, and their form stinks. I don’t know if they can’t do the proper form, or won’t, or just don’t. I’m exhausted by the end of class, but I do try hard to keep good form. If I’m going to pay and drag my tush there, I’m going to try to get as much out of it as I can and the best way is to do the exercises properly.

Both the ladies in the chairs, and the others on the dance floor inspire me to work harder. The way I look at it, exercising now is old age insurance. I want my limbs and joints to stay as limber as possible for as long as I live. When I’m 70 or 80 or 90 I want to be able to rock a modified chair crunch and show those youngsters how its done!

