I decided in January to push the crap about exercise out of my head and get on with it. Exercising isn’t my favorite thing in the world, in fact it rates somewhere between having my teeth drilled and scrubbing the tub. However, I know it’s good for me, I’m not getting any younger, yadda, yadda, yadda.

I’ve been going to Jazzercise class regularly since January. I’m giving it my all… sweating, breathing, managing to not pass out. I’ve even been doing a pretty good job of watching what I eat. But I have to admit, I’ve been more and more disappointed.  Because as much as I know I’m doing it for my overall health, I’ve been really bummed that the scale has barely moved. Yeah, I’m feeling less jiggly, but there is something about a bathroom scale that validates our efforts. And my bathroom scale is a stubborn jerk.

Yesterday I went to the cardiologist for my 6-month checkup (I take two medications for my cholesterol, plus he’s monitoring another issue). Lo and behold! My good lipids went up, my bad lipids are down! Right where they ought to be!  Still triglyceride problems, but those are so diet-sensitive and while I’ve been good, I’m not that good.  Blood pressure, liver function, and sugar are all perfect. The only difference since my last checkup is the exercise. Well, I’ll be damned, sneaky exercise is working on the inside! And all the while, my mental modification of looking on the outside has been creeping back. Ugh, it takes sooo looong to get rid of the crap!

Needless to say, I was much more motivated to get to class yesterday. I’ll still check my weight periodically. However, now I can tell myself that even if I’m not different from a gravitational point of view, I have clinical proof that my body is happier and healthier. Hey, every little bit of motivation helps!

Thank you, Universe, for yet another lesson.

