Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park

I learned just by chance this morning that today is the 65th anniversary of the bombing of Hiroshima. I’m a little ashamed to realize how little I know about this piece of history, although since it’s not one of our country’s proudest moments I’m not surprised that it doesn’t get the same History Channel kind of coverage that other war events get.

Just hopping quickly through the internet this morning I found this link, a story about a man who has been painting the portraits of survivors. But more impressive than his paintings are the couple of survivor stories the article shares. I’m kind of surprised there are any survivors, as my mental vision of a nuclear bomb implies total and complete destruction. Yet there are survivors, who have felt ashamed all these years – imagine feeling ashamed for being a victim of such a brutal event! The people who lived in Hiroshima in 1945 are senior citizens now and soon will not be here to tell their stories. I hope more and more of them do, in the same spirit that Holocost survivors tell and retell their stories in the hope that history will never, ever repeat itself.

I have some reading to do.

PS… Hiroshima looks like a beautiful place today. If you have a strong stomach, do a Google Image search on “hiroshima”. The people of this city have come a very long way.
Photo credit to TOSHIFUMI KITAMURA/AFP/Getty Images.

